Tuesday, December 28, 2010

Making Whoopee

Last year, Todd started a tradition. He decided he would make Whoopee...that is Whoopee Pies with his kids each year for Christmas. These were his grandmother's specialty. Last year, he made a triple batch that got out of control, but they were pretty good. (I only tasted one as I was on diabetes watch while pregnant). He decided to do a test batch a couple of weeks before Christmas this year. Adam was happy to help when the mixer was out! OK, so Todd loves me enough to put these matching aprons on! He also used my Gingerbread man pot holder to take them out...a pot holder that Adam practically stole from Macy's because it looks like Gingy on Shrek and has become our tree topper...but that's another story. Adam did not want to eat his Whoopee Pie, I guess not surprising from a kid who did not eat his own birthday cake. I helped him and so did Abbey...! We gave some of that batch to his brother Dale and the neighbors and the Wednesday night before Christmas, Todd made a double batch. I skipped dinner and ate THREE...couldn't quite finish the last one as I was getting sick to my stomach but they were GOOD> Deciding it wasn't enough for both our families, he made another double batch Thursday night (which required me getting more ingredients that day. And when he went to use the cocoa....it was already open and I had to run to Price Chopper before my dinner with Tammy to get more! There was even enough for the office...and it turns out my brother-in-law Eric has a huge fetish for the things! Ah, a tradition is cemented.

1 comment:

  1. Nice. The kids will always remember doing this all their lives.

    ReplyDelete