Thursday, January 31, 2013
Garbage Man's Ball Take Five
Last Saturday night, we went to the annual holiday get together given by major accounts at Casella Waste, for the fifth year. Otherwise known as The Garbage Man's Ball.
First off, the fact that Todd and I have done anything for five years in a row is a bit mind blowing. Sometimes it seems like we just met and sometimes it's like we've known each other forever.
I enjoy this party. The place is nice, the food is good and we usually spend the evening just chatting, no kid talk anywhere! In the past, I've stressed out about what to wear, so I prepared two months in advance. Except the outfit just fits now...it's not going to take me through the next three plays! (I am HUGE. I mean my STOMACH IS BIG. People have started holding doors open for me and offering to carry stuff...that didn't happen until my 7 month last time. And it's a big pregnancy belly, not jiggling layers of fat. It's pretty crazy.)
Bethany and Brianna were nice enough for the third year in a row to babysit. I tried to have the house in order for them and put the kids in their rooms for rest time so I could get things done.
And my little wild princess, who almost never takes a nap and never sleeps anymore but her bed, did this.
Anyhow, we were sitting on stools that killed my back. It was the first night that the awkwardness of my body was really killing me.
But the food did not disappoint. They bring it around on trays (so you're forced to be polite and take one I guess ). Shrimp and grilled lobster were the best. Everyone talks about the food, so I don't feel so bad that I love it so much. My old man husband was drinking Vodka and Tonics with the Trichillos, happy to have a pregnant wife and DD.
I got tired, really tired. But when the large couch was free, I ran over and sat in it and Sylvia joined me. Suddenly, I wasn't so ready to go home! The party ended a bit earlier than in the past. Everyone seemed tired or sick. We left at 10:20, one of the last to go.
Bethany and Brianna were great babysitters. Beth said she didn't have to do much...Bri even sung Adam to sleep! (May I note that he is in love with her? From the minutes she walked in the door, he was stuck to her!) Abbey didn't go to bed right away and hung out for a while, but was asleep by 9:30pm. They even did a craft together. I'm excited because I know in a couple of years I will have the BEST babysitter...almost as good as her Mom, whom I used to call the baby whisperer, but am now calling the Abbey whisperer, because Abbey loves her. Well, the jewelry she lets her wear helps :) When Bethany is there, I don't worry AT ALL because I know that nothing Abbey throws at her will intimidate. And that's a tall order!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
I wanted to see your ball outfit, but I guess you aren't really in the mood to strike a pose!! Glad you had fun. I like that you can look forward to this each year.
ReplyDelete