Somehow I didn't take a single photo last weekend, not even on my phone.
My birthday weekend. I turned 36.
That's two times 18. Which mean if you HALVED my age, I still would a legal adult. This getting older stuff I'm not crazy about. Strike that. I actually don't care that much about being older, even if I don't have my youth. I enjoy the wisdom life experience has given me. I don't like how time seems to be flying by as I get older.
Saturday was Tammy's birthday. After some wrangling, we were about to go to lunch together as Bobby could babysit at one. We even stopped at a store and did some quick Christmas shopping because Tammy is behind and I'm...always behind shopping with two toddlers. Then we went over to the Red Brick Oven to try something new. Why not?
The food wasn't bad. The pizza I ordered came with such strong basil (something I usually like), I wanted to vomit. And we both commented on how loud the music was. THAT is a sign of 36! Too soon, our time was up and my babysitter turned into a pumpkin.
But wait, I was packing in my entire yearly social life in one day! In the evening, after the kids went to bed, I had a date with Pam, rearranged from the morning. We were going to dinner, but then I realized she had just had a big Thanksgiving dinner with her family. Todd suggested a movie and the only one I wanted to see, kind of embarrassed to admit, was the Twilight movie. Pam agreed to give it a go and we headed over to get tickets before grabbing some coffee. We found a line to wait to get in (not to be confused with the line to buy a ticket, which there was none). OK, so we were going to be standing there for nearly an hour. It actually flew by and gave us some talk time and when we got into the theatre, we had to get the special Team Edward popcorn bucket. Seriously. And I decided I HAD to have Skittles. I got a little obsessive, ate most of them while we waited for the movie to start and had to work to keep them in.
I warned Pam that the Twilight movies aren't actually good and that the writing is teen driven and the romance cheesy (there were sparks next to Bella's head when her and Edward were ...romantic), but there was something about it that made you want to see more. It wasn't bad...a little slow at first, but the end was kind of interesting. Afterwards, Pam and I laughed at the plot (I mean, the WHOLE WORLD revolves around Bella and now her spawn, too?), but then she went home and rented the first one with her family. I TOLD HER!
I had laughed at myself in line. It was my 36th birthday and I was standing there with teenagers waiting to see a TWILGHT movie. Made me seem older, not younger.
It was 12:30 when I got home. Beat. Fall asleep on the lap of my sleeping husband on the couch.
Friday, November 23, 2012
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
I still want to see this. JoDee is older than us and blogged all about her trip with a handful of friends. She arrived early just to be first in line. So, you're not alone.
ReplyDelete