Thursday, March 31, 2011

Bathroom Renovation: The Before

Kevin the contractor has been working on our bathroom since Monday...it's about time for me to start writing about it! Let's start with the before. As you walked into the room, this was on your right. I took this last Friday, as I started to clean things out. Abbey is helping me. The window is on the left hand side of the room. This is a close-up of where Bailey has been eating the floor for almost two years since Adam tore it up in front of the bath tub. And it's a good thing I took this photo a few days before...the night before when we were cleaning everything out it MYSTERIOUSLY fell to the ground, just missing me and shattering. Guess it knew what was coming! Monday morning...last bath in the old tub for the kids....trust me, Adam misses it. He has flipped out the last three days using the tub in the other bathroom, refusing to sit. I have to wash him and his hair while he yells at me. Abbey is fine with any tub. She looks at Adam like he's a moron for flipping out! Hard to get too irritated with this face though....poor Adam, enjoying his last bath in his old tub! :) Here is the shelf/cabinet that was to the right of the door. Basically between the doorway and the vanity and crappy plastic drawer unit you saw in the first photo! I will NOT miss the curvy little bric-a-brac. I really can't stand it...it's over the shower, too and in the doorway between our living room and dining room. Last photo of the room standing in the doorway. I am so excited about this re-do, but I can't help be a bit nostalgic. This is where my babies had their first baths! It occurs to me as everything is out that it is our stuff that makes it our home. Here, it looks like an empty shell. Easier to stop the nostalgia that way!

Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Adam's Imagination

Adam is sitting next to me having his animal cookies act something out. He has made animals make noises and talked to babies...but this is the first time I've seen him act out something. Of course, he won't eat them as he has become even pickier lately. I think I get the point though. The bear is going ROARR and the kitty is going meow meow in a frantic way. Looks like it's survival of the fittest in my son's head!

Now, he is feeding them his juice box going num num num. It's pretty cute, even if he is driving me crazy with the fact he won't eat much! He wouldn't even eat CHICKEN NOODLE soup today!!! Maybe I can get him to imagine it's pizza ;).

Oh, wait, he just fed these poor animals to Bailey going cookie-cookie...guess they do look like Bailey's treats!

Our bathroom is in Day 3 of renovation.

PS We just went on the first walk of the year SO NICE to be outside in the sun!! And when we got back, for the first time, Adam unzipped and took off both his jacket AND his hoodie all by himself!!!

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Chuck E. Cheese!

We had kind of thought our kids were two young for Chuck E. Cheese. Wrong. I think it proves how OLD we are....we were up in Syracuse driving around to put permit stickers on dumpsters in the city (a way to make money I guess for the city. We had talked about going back to CiCi's after as the kids seemed to like it so much . But for whatever reason, there was a line out the door and
said impulsively maybe we should try Chuck E. Cheese. So we pulled out (with kids crying after having been stuck in the car for several hours and saw hope of getting out). We were like trust us kids this will be worth it, still feeling bad.

Adam had his Rexy with him and was not happy about leaving him in the car...I had to drag him in. And he forgot about Rexy as soon as we walked in! As we waited in line to get our hands stamped and to order our food and tokens, he was awestruck...both were looking around fascinated, dying to run into all those people and chaos. We got a pizza and an appetizer platter. And of course, Todd got them the special Chuck E. Cheese straw cups they LOVED. Abbey wasn't interested in pizza or fries....but CELERY and MOZZARELLA STICKS!! Here she is eating one as Daddy headed off with Adam for his first ride. What a face!! Adam got so excited to get into this first ride. Although it turned out "rider" rides weren't his favorite, he was so patient through lunch and all the excitement to get into this first ride! Once Adam was done with this ride, he went over to a horse ride. He wanted to get off after a bit and Abbey practically jumped onto it to finish it off! She LOVED it and rode it several more times. It doesn't look like it but Abbey loved this Barney ride! She couldn't wait to get on the Bob Builder ride..it spoke to her and she talked back :) Adam, and Abbey, loved this video game where you threw balls at the screen. And I think Daddy liked it, too. But the whack a shark was a HUGE hit with Adam...slapping them with his hands, on occasion even with the hammer! Such a nice family time...we both thought it was fun to do that with the kids. The kind of thing I used to think I'd never get to do, CHEESY, right? (get it?)

Sunday, March 27, 2011

Dumpster Stickers

Yesterday, we finished putting stickers on dumpsters in the city of Syracuse. This is my 4th year doing this with Todd. We started last weekend and did some both Saturday and Sunday. On Sunday, I suggested we let Adam try it. I thought he'd like it, but was surprised when he jumped out of the car, sticker in hand and ran right over to a Butler dumpster and tried to stick it over the old one. Todd and I agree later that sometimes, we do underestimate this kid. He was excited and got upset when I put him back in. I had to explain to him each time that we would get out, put them on and get back in. Sometimes he was OK and other times, he complained. I told him if he wasn't good...he wouldn't be able to do it. After our last one last week he said Mom, I'm good. I'm good. It was cute...not just what he was saying, but how...he was trying to "sell us' on his merits. Yesterday, he did OK, but freaked out so bad I had to tell him that he couldn't do the next. If he was good, he could do more after that. He listened and when we got to the next one, he said MOM-my. What Adam? I good. Yes, Adam, you are. :)

And as Adam did the last one, I looked over at Abbey, who had longing in her eyes. I told Todd I should have let her do one. Next year, Mama, he said. There will be plenty more.

Thursday, March 24, 2011

Adam and Orrie

Adam and Abbey woke up before 7 today. i think that's why Adam is so moody. He wanted me to hold him a lot, cried when I put him the bathtub and flat our refused to wear his favorite "cozy sweatshirt". (He likes it after his bath when I ask him if wants to be cozy..then he snuggles in his towel and will "shiver". And he says yes when I say do you want to be cozy with a shirt?) He started saying Daddy, Daddy, so we called him and they talked.

Yesterday, I asked Adam if he wanted to go upstairs and see Orrie. He run through our room, but made a pit stop by Todd's desk. Todd has some little stuffed parrot that Adam likes to play with and he has apparently associated with Orrie. He grabbed him and we went upstairs. After knocking on Orrie's door (so cute when he does that) he went to the cage and tried to rip the cover off and show Orrie this toy. He was waving it at him like he does with Bailey's stuffed dog, which she loves and then chases. Orrie was not impressed and cawed. Adam cawed right back at him...I love his fearlessness around that bird. He ended up putting it on the couch after I told him that no, he couldn't shove it into the cage because it will get poop on it. Adam was a tad bit disgusted that Orrie didn't want to play with him I think. So he shoved peanuts into his cage instead. You cannot convince Adam that it's better to put those into the bird's bowl...

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Front Door Re-Done

Last week, our second project was to get our front door done. Note our Christmas tree on the porch...to be planted this spring. As you can see, I had a little curious girl as I took my "before" picture :) I'm coming out, too Mom! I won't lie..I kind of love this picture. Here is the inside "before". If it weren't for the fact that there was a wind tunnel coming in around the door, I wouldn't have wanted to replace it. Cosmetically, I thought it had some character. But...it was REALLY bad letting in the cold and the frame was falling a part so bad that the screen door "plunger" had fallen right out of the wall! Ta-DA!! I LOVE this new door! I wanted something with character, though wood doors weren't practical, I found this leaded glass door at Lowe's at a reasonable price. I love the light it brings in, too and how it looks. He took out the old hollow frame...finding COAL inside it (Todd's guess? It was a coal door at some point...love the little character things about old houses. He was able to go with a modern day standard 36 inch door versus the old 32 inch door. Miss the green trim, but that's about it! I need to get new house numbers....thinking of something creative. We're thinking we should paint it at some point...I like green, Todd likes it a cream like it is. He can pick...since I had all the say in the door itself! THe screen door ended up opening to the opposite of what it did, which we weren't crazy about but I think we've adjusted! Too bad the storm door has the "line" in it, but I wanted the option to have a screen to open!

Back Door Re-Do

Since we decided not to have another baby this year ;) we decided it was time to get to some stuff around the house we've been talking about. We've done three bedrooms together already, so we're kind of in the groove. First on the list? Doors. The back door was so bad, that you could feel wind in the living room four rooms away. It was literally crooked and two panes of the glass had boards instead. You had to slam it to close it and the wood was cracked. Todd said someone probably fished it out of the dumpster and stuck it on there forty years ago! I can't help myself though, I can say it's too bad it was shabby because I love character of the old doors! Here's a before as the contractor Kevin started his work. Bye, bye door...even though it was junk, you know I'm nostalgic! New door! We wanted just a plain steel door to keep the possibility of using the space as anything, even a bedroom if necessary...but he did put in a peep hole for me :) Took us a few days to get used to the change. While we were at it, we replaced what was a bare bulb with a sconce (or..an L-shaped light, as Todd described it!). I picked one out that allowed for a 100 watt bulb so it didn't get too dark in there with the one window. I didn't realize how much went into changing out a door until I saw the process through out the day. More changes ahead for this room as we take out the washer and old sink (yeah this room was actually a "studio" apartment!!!)

Monday, March 21, 2011

And Finally...Happy Birthday to My Abbey!

Abbey liked her balloons, but wasn't in love like Adam once was. She enjoyed walking around and laughing. She was more into opening her gifts than Adam STILL is. She got some cute clothes and toys, including a couple of baby dolls which she loves to hug. Her Uncle Bobby brought her flowers, which was so sweet. This reminds me of when Tammy would be serious doing theatre! Todd took it. He deicided to take over camera duty when cake cutting began and had some fu with it! Early in the evening, hanging out with Grandma. Todd tortured Holly taking her picture all night...this was my favorite, with Bailey! Todd took this picture of me and Bobby and I really like it...I usually don't like pictures of myself. The morning after...the house was a mess and Abbey loved going through it all.

Friday, March 18, 2011

Abbey's Birthday Cake

Abbey hadn't shown a preference really for a certain character or theme, so we decided to have the amazing artist at Cakes Galore draw two of Abbey's favorite animals (she loves stuffed animals) on it. Her girl monkey I got her after she was born and her Lotso bear from Aunt Carolyn (so named by her Daddy from Toy Story 3). It was so cute...and soooo Abbey. She was kind of irritable when we sat her in her Daddy's lap and sang to her... but Adam was all into it. Then she was still grumpy and not impressed enough to try her cake...until her Grandma gave her taste. Then she was all in! I thought I'd have some fun with her and let her feed me cake...she REALLY got into this!! Then she kissed me and this picture Tammy took just melts my heart! Afterwards, Bobby told me I was nuts and I told him....it's something Dad would do. And he was always making us laugh and bringing the lighter side to our family. Dad would have loved to see this moment. My comfort is as Abbey's personality grows, I see him so much in her. She is light hearted and happy a lot...something I'm assuming she got from him :)

Wednesday, March 16, 2011

Abbey's Birthday ..Pre-Gaming

We did a small get-together for little Abbey's birthday. Mom, Bobby, Kathy, Chucky and Missie, Holly and Tammy. Some easy appetizers (next year, turning that over to Uncle Bobby...wondering why I didn't call on the family chef!) and a cake with Abbey's favorite monkey and bear (her "Lotso" bear). Abbey knew all day something exciting was happening...I pulled some dresses and her Daddy picked out this one...she was so excited...getting Adam up... And Adam was actually in a good mood...trying to pose for the camera for a change. Abbey was dancing around. And hugging her Daddy...I like this picture because she looks like such a big girl....playing with her Daddy in such a good mood...!

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Valentine's Day

Valentine's Day was on a Monday this year....and I wasn't interested in taking two kids out to dinner. We considered finding a babysitter, but in the end we just decided to celebrate Miss Abbey's FIRST Valentine's Day at home. I made baked ziti...was going to make mac and cheese because it's the WHOLE family's favorite but I was out of elbows. :) This is a close second. Here is my little girl in her First Valentine's Day bib at breakfast.... Daddy sent Mommy flowers! Mommy loves surprises like this from Daddy, it makes me feel special and I don't know...I just got a big smile...and Adam LOVES flowers now. He spent all day (and all week) wanting them. I'd put them in the kitchen and he'd stand at the gate going FLOWRS FLOWRS MA. I tried to teach him to "smell the roses" but it sounds like the blowing on hot food noise to him so he got it a little confused. I made Todd cupcakes...I wanted them to be heart shaped, but it didn't work out that way...I made a few with a heart shaped "top layer". Mmmmm I ended up eating more then him that week. UH-OH That's why I don't bake...I eat it! Wait, look at the card. The flowers are from the A-team :) Makes my heart melt. BUT turns out Mr. John's forgot the chocolates that were supposed to be with it. I LOVE the Man in the Moon chocolates. Probably better for my diet SIGH Love you Todd. And my two little Valentine's, too :)

Saturday, March 12, 2011

Last Sunday Family Day..Wild for Freedom

Last Sunday we went to Sam's Club on Erie Blvd. When the one in Clay closed last year suddenly, it actually made me a little sad...Todd and I had gone there together since we moved in, buying funny things in bulk, a washer, and even our first camera to document Adam. Todd had told me going there with me was the first time in his whole life he liked shopping for anything...I dunno, it had it's own weird romance I guess!

We let Adam walk around on his own for a while and he was in his glory. Zooming down aisles and even trying to sneak into between the stacks before we stopped him. Once we got to the fridge part, there were too many people and we had to put him a cart, but before that, I can still picture his grin as he tasted freedom.

We started out "late" so it was after 2:30pm when we left and tried to figure out where to eat. Both Red Lobster and Olive Garden lots were full (Butler customers baby!) and I suggested we try the new CiCi's. $5 for salad, pizza, pasta and desert. Adam was $3 and included his drink. Which he enjoyed his Hi-C but Abbey liked her taste so much, she flipped out to have more. Adam ate his piece of pizza...meanwhile Abbey stole one off of my plate, loved the pasta and couldn't get enough brownie. (The deserts WERE really good).

The food was OK...kind of like decent cafeteria food, but we got our money's worth. But the kids LOVED it here. Some worker put on too loud music and more and more kids came in. Adam was so excited I had to put him in a high chair as he couldn't stay in his seat when his Daddy went to the pizza bar. He started dancing in that high chair while Abbey devoured her mac and cheese pizza. His Daddy let him run to the arcade area, where he walked around touching everything. When we left, he had an awful fit. I've never seen him like that I had to carry him to the car. He just loved all the lights and big kids (Adam is always more excited b big kids than toddlers like him). If it were just me and Todd, i don't think we'd go back. But the kids just loved it and for that, the price was right. But we realize unleashing Adam on Chuck E. Cheese will be wild!!

Exhausted, they both actually slept in the car!

Thursday, March 10, 2011

Flashback..Abbey's First Trip Out


Pretty sure I wrote about this a year ago...but here's the picture of Abbey's first outing...we went to Canale's! I can't believe how tiny she was.

Car Wash

Last week, I went through the car wash and Abbey was very scared. She was yelling DADADADA which was cute because she already knows...her Daddy will protect her. She was only irritated as I raced around trying to vacuum around them. But I was reminded of when I decided to take my car through the car wash last year the day before I went in to have Abbey. Part of my "nesting" I guess!
The result? I got my car stuck in the rails...yeah I read this sign... ..but over thunk it and started to worry...what rails? And got my car stuck. Todd called Robbie but they wouldn't let him tow me out...the owner had to come in and jimmy it.....yeah, I was that person! I took these pictures with my cell, intending to blog about it...and over a year later, I have...:)